Nicholson named A-10 Preseason All-Conference

Posted on October 22, 2009 by BSD Staff Reports

St. Bonaventure men’s basketball sophomore forward Andrew Nicholson has been named to both the Atlantic 10 Preseason All-Conference second team and All-Defensive team, announced during the league’s annual media day on Thursday.

Nicholson is the first Bonnie since 2005-06 to garner any kind of A-10 preseason accolade. The Mississauga, Ontario native is the eighth player in program history to earn preseason All-Conference status and just the fourth to be named to the All-Defensive team.

The reigning A-10 Rookie of the Year, Nicholson exploded onto the scene in 2008-09, averaging 12.5 points, 6.0 rebounds and 2.7 blocks per game. Nicholson led all A-10 rookies in six different categories, while ranking 11th and 12th in the nation, respectively, in blocks (81) and field goal percentage (.602). His .602 clip from the field established a new program single-season record, while his 81 blocks were the fourth most by an A-10 freshmen in league history.

Nicholson is the only A-10 player to be named to both the All-Conference and All-Defensive team. He is also one of just three underclassmen on the three All-Conference teams.

Also in a vote conducted by the league’s head coaches and select media, the Bonnies were picked to finish 11th in the A-10 preseason poll. The Brown and White return six players, including four starters, from last year’s team that finished with an overall record of 15-15 and a 6-10 mark in the A-10.

Head coach Mark Schmidt will appear on Thursday’s Atlantic 10 Media Day conference call at 1 p.m. All the information on the A-10’s Media Day can be found at

St. Bonaventure will play its only exhibition game on Friday, November 6 when welcome Division II Mansfield visits the Reilly Center for a 7 p.m. tip.

All-Time A-10 Preseason All-Conference
2009-10, Andrew Nicholson, Second Team
2005-06, Ahmad Smith, Second Team
2004-05, Patrick Lottin, Third Team
2003-04, Marques Green, First Team
2002-03, Marques Green, First Team
2001-02, JR Bremer, Second Team
2000-01, Peter Van Paassen, Third Team
1999-00, Tim Winn, Second Team
1999-00, Caswell Cyrus, Third Team

All-Time A-10 Preseason All-Defensive Team
2009-10, Andrew Nicholson
2003-04, Marques Green
2002-03, Marques Green
1999-00, Caswell Cyrus
1999-00, Tim Winn
1998-99, Caswell Cyrus

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print this article!
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks

Leave a Reply

Add Your Comment

Read This Before Leaving a Comment

Please make sure your comments follow our guidelines:

  • Use your real name, not keywords
  • No signature links in your comments
  • No foul language (please)

Comments that do not adhere will be deleted or marked as SPAM.

by Comments Policy for WordPress

QuestionsView Results